Atlantic Ocean

Raritan Bay

Figure 6-8 Location of harbor survey sampling sites and municipal water pollution control plants in New York Harbor. Source: Brosnan and O'Shea, 1996b. Copyright © Water Environment Federation, Alexandria, VA. Reprinted with permission.

The Middle Hudson watershed, from the Federal Lock and Dam at Troy, New York, to the New York City boundary, includes most of the area of Albany, Columbia, Duchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Ulster, and Westchester counties. The Lower Hudson watershed, from the New York City boundary to the Atlantic Ocean, includes the five boroughs of New York City (Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Kings, and New York counties) and Bergen, Passaic, Essex, Morris, Hudson, and Union counties in New Jersey. For the effluent flow and pollutant load trend estimates presented in this chapter, the Lower Hudson basin includes discharges to the Hudson River from the New York City line to the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge, the Harlem River, the East River to Throgs Neck and the Kill van Kull. Wastewater discharges to Western Long Island Sound, Jamaica Bay, the Hackensack and Raritan Rivers, Raritan Bay, Newark Bay, and the Arthur Kill are not included in the long-term trend estimates of population served, effluent flow, and effluent loads for the Lower Hudson basin.

During the course of the twentieth century, the total population served by municipal wastewater facilities in the Middle and Lower Hudson basins more than doubled, from 3.4 million in 1900 to 8.5 million by 2000 (Figure 6-9). This increase in the population served by wastewater facilities reflects the growth of the population of the New York and New Jersey metropolitan region (see Figure 6-5) and, beginning in about 1880, the increasing proportion of the population in the metropolitan drainage

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment