International Energy Agency

Power Efficiency Guide

Ultimate Guide to Power Efficiency

Get Instant Access

The International Energy Agency (IEA), an autonomous agency, was established in November 1974. Its primary mandate was - and is - two-fold: to promote energy security amongst its member countries through collective response to physical disruptions in oil supply, and provide authoritative research and analysis on ways to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 28 member countries and beyond. The IEA carries out a comprehensive programme of energy co-operation among its member countries, each of which is obliged to hold oil stocks equivalent to 90 days of its net imports. The Agency's aims include the following objectives:

■ Secure member countries' access to reliable and ample supplies of all forms of energy; in particular, through maintaining effective emergency response capabilities in case of oil supply disruptions. ■ Promote sustainable energy policies that spur economic growth and environmental protection in a global context - particularly in terms of reducing greenhouse-gas emissions that contribute to climate change.

■ Improve transparency of international markets through collection and analysis of energy data.

I Support global collaboration on energy technology to secure future energy supplies and mitigate their environmental impact, including through improved energy efficiency and development and deployment of low-carbon technologies. I Find solutions to global energy challenges through engagement and dialogue with non-member countries, industry, international organisations and other stakeholders.

IEA member countries:


Austria Belgium Canada Czech Republic Denmark Finland France

International Energy Agency

9 rue de la Fédération 75739 Paris Cedex 15, France

Please note that this publication is subject to specific restrictions that limit its use and distribution. The terms and conditions are available online at

Germany Greece Hungary Ireland Italy Japan

Korea (Republic of) Luxembourg Netherlands New Zealand Norway Poland Portugal Slovak Republic Spain Sweden Switzerland Turkey United Kingdom United States

International Energy Agency

The European Commission also participates in the work of the IEA.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment