F OECD North America comprises Canada, Mexico and the United States.

F Europe includes: OECD Europe, i.e. comprises Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom and non-OECD Europe, i.e. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus1, Gibraltar, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Malta, Romania, Serbia2 and Slovenia.

F OECD Pacific comprises Australia, Japan, Korea and New Zealand.

F Africa includes Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Other Africa. Other Africa includes Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Niger, Reunion, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland, Uganda and Western Sahara.

► Latin America includes Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile3, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela and Other Latin America. Other Latin America includes Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, French Guyana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Pierre et Miquelon, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Turks and Caicos Islands.

► Asia includes Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, DPR of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam and Other Asia. Other Asia includes Afghanistan, Bhutan, Cook Islands, East Timor, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Laos, Macau, Maldives, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu.

► China includes the People's Republic of China and Hong Kong (China).

► Former Soviet Union includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

► Middle East includes Bahrain, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Israel4, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

1. Footnote by Turkey: The information in this document with reference to "Cyprus" relates to the southern part of the island. There is no single authority representing both Turkish and Greek Cypriot people on the Island. Turkey recognizes the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC). Until a lasting and equitable solution is found within the context of United Nations, Turkey shall preserve its position concerning the "Cyprus" issue. Footnote by all the European Union Member States of the OECD and the European Commission:The Republic of Cyprus is recognised by all members of the United Nations with the exception of Turkey. The information in this report relates to the area under the effective control of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus.

2. Data for Serbia include Montenegro until 2004 and Kosovo until 1999.

3. Chile became a member country of the OECD with effect from

7 May 2010. Since the preparation of the annual statistics publications was well on its way at that stage, data for Chile have not been included in OECD totals for the 2010 edition and will continue to be included in Latin America with the OECD non-member countries. The IEA Secretariat will work closely with the Chilean Administration, especially on the consistency of the time series, for incorporating Chile into OECD totals in the 2011 edition.

4. The statistical data for Israel are supplied by and under the responsibility of the relevant Israeli authorities. The use of such data by the OECD is without prejudice to the status of the Golan Heights, East Jerusalem and Israeli settlements in the West Bank under the terms of international law.


Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment