Materials and Methods

Nine species of naturally-growing herb legumes were collected from different localities at Beni-Suef Governorate. The legumes are Melilotus indicus, Melilotus siculus, Vicia sativa, V. monantha, Medicago polymorpha, M. intertexta, Trifolium resupinatum, Trigonella hamosa and Lotus corniculatus. The nitrogen-fixing ability of root nodules collected from these legumes was determined by the acetylene reduction technique (Hardy et al. 1973). Protein content in plants was determined using the traditional method of Lowry et al. (1951). The contents of N, H and C were determined in dry matter from these legumes by using an elemental analyzer. Mineral content of plants and soils was also determined by using atomic absorption spectrophotometry. The anions Cf, SO4 and HCO3) were measured in soil extract following the standard techniques of analyses.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment