Types Of Coal

There are four main classifications of coal. Each type of coal is formed as a result of the exposure to assorted combinations of temperature and pressure during formation. For instance, coal that was exposed to low temperatures and pressures is usually moister, softer, and has lower energy content. The four coal classifications include lignite, subbituminous, bituminous, and anthracite.

The first type of coal, lignite, is soft with a high moisture content and low thermal value as compared with other types of coal. Lignite is usually light brown to brown-black in color and resembles deteriorating and compressed wood. In the United States, most lignite deposits are found in the western states; specifically, North Dakota is the state that produces the largest amount of lignite. This type of coal is relatively inexpensive and, thus, highly desirable, from an economic standpoint, to fuel electric power plants.

The next classification of coal is subbituminous. This type of coal is the intermediate between lignite and bituminous coal. It has a moisture content of between 20 and 30 percent. This is higher than bituminous coal and anthracite; however it is lower than lignite. Subbituminous is desirable from a pollution standpoint because it has a low relative sulfur and carbon content, but the thermal value of subbitumi-nous coal is low. However, many power plants prefer to burn subbituminous coal, as it provides cleaner energy generation. Subbituminous coal is found primarily in Alaska, Montana, and Wyoming and is recognized by its unpolished black color.

Renewable Energy Eco Friendly

Renewable Energy Eco Friendly

Renewable energy is energy that is generated from sunlight, rain, tides, geothermal heat and wind. These sources are naturally and constantly replenished, which is why they are deemed as renewable.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment