Awards and accolades

Throughout his long career, Munk has received numerous awards. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1956, and to the Royal Society of London in 1976. He has been the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship three times. In 1965 he received the Arthur L. Day Medal from the Geological Society of America, and, in 1966, he was awarded the Sverdrup Gold Medal of the American Meteorological Society. The Royal Astronomical Society of London gave him the Gold Medal in 1968. In 1976, he obtained the first Maurice Ewing Medal sponsored by the American Geophysical Union and the U.S. Navy. In 1977, he was given the Alexander Agassiz Gold Medal of the National Academy of Sciences. Munk was honored with the 1999 Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences for his fundamental contributions to the field of oceanography. The Navy League of the United States honored Munk with the 2001 Albert A. Michelson Award for research that has significantly improved the nation's maritime forces or the U.S. industrial technology base. In the same year, the scientist was awarded the inaugural Prince Albert I Medal from the International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans (IAPSO).

sEE ALsO: Climatic Data, Oceanic Observations; Climatic Data, Sea Floor Records; Modeling of Ocean Circulation; Ocean Component of Models; Oceanic Changes; Oceanography; Scripps Institute of Oceanography.

BIBLIOGRAPHY. Walter H. Munk, Peter Worcester, and Carl Wunsch, Ocean Acoustic Tomography (Cambridge University Press, 1995); Walter H. Munk, Rotation of the Earth: A Geophysical Discussion, Rev. Ed., (Cambridge University Press, 1975).

LuCA PRONO University of Nottingham

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Guide to Alternative Fuels

Guide to Alternative Fuels

Your Alternative Fuel Solution for Saving Money, Reducing Oil Dependency, and Helping the Planet. Ethanol is an alternative to gasoline. The use of ethanol has been demonstrated to reduce greenhouse emissions slightly as compared to gasoline. Through this ebook, you are going to learn what you will need to know why choosing an alternative fuel may benefit you and your future.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment