Settlements and Towns

Alaska is divided into municipalities or boroughs and not into counties as in the rest of the United States. In the 2000 census, Anchorage municipality had a popu lation of 260,283, making it by far the largest city in the state and accounting for nearly half the state's total population. The Fairbanks-North Star Borough had a population of 82,840 in 2000 and is the second largest urban region in the state. Other population concentrations are in Matanuska-Susitna Borough north of Anchorage with 59,322 people, Kenai Peninsula Borough with 49,691, and Juneau City and Borough with 30,711. In addition to Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau (the state capital), other important towns include Ketchikan, Sitka, and Bethel.

0 0

Post a comment