Native Alaskan languages can be divided into two families: Eskimo-Aleut and Na-Dene. The Eskimo-Aleut family has two branches, Eskimo and Aleut, spoken in southwest, west, and north coastal Alaska. Alaskan Eskimo languages, closely related to Inuktitut in Canada as well as Greenlandic, are further divided into two subfamilies: Inupiaq is spoken in the eastern region while Yup'ik is spoken in the west. The Aleut language is spoken in the Aleutian Islands and in the Pribilof Islands. Alaskan Athapaskan languages of the Na-Dene family, related to Navajo and Apache of the American southwest, include Gwich'in, Ahtna, Koyukon, and Tanaina. Tlingit, spoken in southeast

Alaska, is a non-Athapaskan Na-Dene language. Many Native Alaskans still speak their own languages, although language learning among the younger people has been declining and poses the issue of the continued viability of these languages. Today English is by far the predominant language of Alaska, spoken by virtually everyone. About 90% of Alaskans speak English as the language of communication at home.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Tube Jacker

Tube Jacker

Download Tube Jacker And Discover Everything You Need To Know About Jacking Unlimited Traffic From The Video Giant. The drop dead easy way to create winning video campaigns that will FLOOD your website with unstoppable FREE traffic, all on complete and total autopilot. How to exploit a sneaky method of boosting exposure and getting your videos to the top of Google within 72 hours, guaranteed.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment