I wish to thank a number of people for their help and companionship through the last decades of this history. First and foremost is Peter Webb, who with Barrie McKelvey was the first Antarctic expedition from Victoria University of Wellington. I first met Peter in 1968, when he visited Colin Bull, leader of the second VUW Antarctic expedition, but then Director of the Institute of Polar Studies, Ohio State University, when I was a graduate student there in 1968. Peter and I subsequently spent 10 weeks in late 1972 and early 1973 together on DSDP Leg 28, drilling in the Southern Ocean and Ross Sea, and from that experience and Peter's involvement in the Dry Valley Drilling Project, the concept of drilling for Antarctic glacial history from the sea ice was born. Peter led the SCAR Cenozoic Group of Specialists (1986-1996) and the US component of McMurdo Sound drilling, and his contribution to Antarctic glacial history continues to this day.

I am also grateful to Alex Pyne for his long-standing appreciation of the scientific goals of Ross Sea drilling and his technical skills, insight and commitment to the development of drilling technology and logistic support. This began with his observations as a graduate student and drill site science manager for the MSSTS-1 drill hole in 1979 and continued through the CIROS and Cape Roberts Projects to his development of the remarkable ANDRILL system, including its hot water drilling component for ice shelf operations.

Key figures from the early days include Bob Clark, Professor of Geology at VUW from 1954 to 1985, who in 1957 initiated the University's annual expeditions and kept them going until my arrival there in 1970, Sam Treves, University of Nebraska, lead PI for DVDP-15 in 1975, the first attempt at offshore drilling from the sea ice, and Trevor Hatherton and Bob Thomson, who as head of Geophysics Division and Antarctic Division, DSIR, respectively, provided practical support and approval for the next three attempts at sea-ice drilling, finally leading to the success of CIROS-1 in 1986.

From the late 1980s on, Alan Cooper and the ANTOSTRAT group broadened my awareness of marine geophysics, and about the same time my appointment to the SCAR Group of Specialists on Environmental Affairs and Conservation, led initially by Nigel Bonner and then David Walton, was significant in helping me deal with the environmental implications of offshore drilling from both practical and scientific perspectives.

In the 1990s, the Cape Roberts Project represented the culmination of the previous two decades of sea-ice drilling experience, brought together through the planning efforts of its International Steering Committee, variously chaired by Maria Bianca Cita (Italy), Fred Davey (NZ), Franz Tessensohn (Germany), Mike Thomson (UK), Jaap van der Meer (Holland), Peter Webb (USA) and Ken Woolfe (Australia), and the Operations Management Group chaired by Gillian Wratt (NZ).

Finally, I wish to acknowledge the work of the ACE community, led by Martin Siegert and Rob Dunbar, and within that the ANDRILL Steering Committee (the next generation) - Dave Harwood and Ross Powell (USA), Tim Naish and Gary Wilson (NZ), Fabio Florindo and Franco Talarico (Italy) and Frank Niessen and Gerhard Kuhn (Germany) - in filling in key gaps in Antarctic climate history in the McMurdo Sound area, and hopefully beyond in the future.

Reviews by Peter Webb, Colin Summerhayes and Jane Francis on an earlier draft were very helpful.

Preparation of this chapter was supported by NZ Foundation for Research, Science and Technology, Grant No. C05X0410 ANDRILL.

0 0

Post a comment